Faculty of Arts

Contact Information

Interdisciplinary Research Group in Organizational Communication
University of Ottawa
Department of communication
556 King Edward
Bureau 201
Ottawa (ON)
Luc Bonneville, Ph.D.

IRGOC Presentation

Welcome to the Interdisciplinary Research Group in Organizational Communication (IRGOC).

Created in 2006, IRGOC is a group of researches who conduct studies and provide training in the field of organizational communication.  The group's objective is to increase our understanding of organizations based on communications that flow through them as well as how communications form those organizations.

Contemporary organizations are the main arena where social relations in advanced industrial societies are expressed. Indeed, individuals spend most of their time in all types of organizations, whether for work or for leisure. From one organization to another, individuals participate in the life of the organization itself at the same time as the organizations determine the individuals' behaviour within a complex human-organization dialectical framework. The actual transformations, be they political, cultural, economic or even social, have rendered the range of relations between individuals and organizations more complex as they become more and more difficult to grasp from a unilateral disciplinary approach. Many phenomena contribute to rendering those relations more and more complex: mergers (which are occurring more and more in large private enterprises); increasingly complex rational administrative and managerial principles; the expansion of organizational activities beyond state borders; all forms of computerization for an organizations’ internal operating methods; adherence to new time frames, etc. In this environment, individuals are confronted to all types of situations, problems, phenomena, influences, interactions, decisions, and events that all form an integral part of organizational life. In this context, whether their approach stems from a communication, sociological, anthropological, ethnological, psychological or management background, organizational theorists and practitioners are brought to reflect on certain key issues from an interdisciplinary angle, not to mention a multidisciplinary one, to either shed light on the general functioning mode of the organizations (macro perspective) or to understand the connotations or meanings that individuals attribute to their activities within these same organizations (micro perspective).

Organizational communication is at the junction of global questions regarding the place of both the individual within modern and contemporary organizations as well as that of the organizations within society, the so-called information or knowledge society. During its very short history on both theoretical and practical levels, the discipline of organizational communication has been able to respond to many key questions which have thus propelled it into a field of its own. Organizational communication has its specific range of questions as well as methodologies; it is also the field that can explain and understand certain complex organizational phenomena as well as the stakes involved.

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts.
Last updated: 2014.08.26

Groupe de Recherche Interdisciplinaire en Communication Organisationnelle (GRICO)

Contactez-nous


Groupe de Recherche Interdisciplinaire en Communication Organisationnelle (GRICO)

Université d´Ottawa
Département de communication
556 King Edward
Bureau 201
Ottawa ON, Canada
K1N 6N5
Luc Bonneville, Ph.D.

Présentation du GRICO

Bienvenue au Groupe de Recherche Interdisciplinaire en Communication Organisationnelle (GRICO).

Créé en 2006, le GRICO, réunissant professeurs, chercheurs et étudiants, est un lieu de recherche et de formation en communication organisationnelle dont l’objectif est de mieux comprendre les organisations à partir des phénomènes communicationnels qui les traversent et les constituent.

Les organisations sont devenues aujourd’hui le lieu d’articulation central de l’ensemble des rapports sociaux des sociétés industrielles avancées. Les individus passent en effet la majorité de leur temps dans des organisations de toutes sortes, que ce soit dans le cadre de leur travail ou de leur loisir. D’une organisation à l’autre, ils participent à la vie des organisations en même temps que celles-ci déterminent, dans un rapport dialectique humain-organisation complexe, leurs comportements. Les transformations actuelles, qui se jouent tant au niveau politique, culturel, technologique, économique que social, ont tôt fait de complexifier l’éventail des rapports que les individus entretiennent avec des organisations qui se montrent de plus en plus difficiles à saisir d’un point de vue uni-disciplinaire. Plusieurs phénomènes participent à cette complexification : les fusions (ce qui se pose avec de plus en plus d’importance dans les grandes organisations privées [entreprises]), la mise en pratique de principes de rationalité administrative et managériale de plus en plus complexes, l’extension des activités organisationnelles au-delà des frontières étatiques, la technologisation sous toutes ses formes du fonctionnement interne des organisations, l’adhésion à des temporalités nouvelles, etc., etc. Dans cet environnement, l’individu est confronté à toutes sortes de situations, de problèmes, de phénomènes, d’influences, d’interactions, de déterminations et d’événements qui font partie intégrante de la vie organisationnelle. Dans ce contexte, les théoriciens et praticiens des organisations, qu’ils se réclament de la communication, de la sociologie, de l’anthropologie, de l’ethnologie, de la psychologie ou du management, sont amenés à se pencher sur certaines questions clés sous un angle nécessairement interdisciplinaire, pour ne pas dire multidisciplinaire, que ce soit pour mettre en lumière le mode de fonctionnement des organisations de façon globale (perspective macro) ou pour comprendre les représentations, ou le sens, que les individus accordent à leurs pratiques dans ces mêmes organisations (perspective micro).

La communication organisationnelle est justement au carrefour de ce questionnement global qui consiste à s'interroger à la fois sur la place de l'individu dans les organisations modernes et contemporaines et sur la place de celles-ci dans la société dite de l’information ou du savoir. Au cours de sa très courte histoire partagée par la théorie et la pratique, la communication organisationnelle a su répondre à plusieurs questions clés qui ont tôt fait de l’institutionnaliser comme discipline à part entière. Riche de questionnements et de méthodologies qui lui sont de plus en plus propres, la communication organisationnelle constitue aujourd'hui le champ disciplinaire par excellence pour expliquer et comprendre certains phénomènes organisationnels complexes ainsi que les enjeux leur étant associés. 

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.
Dernières modifications : 2013.04.10